We just wanted to pass on our personal thanks to Keith, Toni & Natalie for making our day out on Friday 9th August 2019 absolutely memorable. Keith just kept on finding whales for everyone to enjoy all day and his personalised, cheery, yet fact-filled commentary was great and not hype-filled tourist rhubarb we have experienced on another Whale Watching trip further south. Toni and Natalie were very passionate about their work and this was clearly evident especially with their enthusiasm for ‘calling up’ the whales. Your food on board was both plentiful and amazing.

My Wife was especially grateful for the extra care and concern shown by Natalie for Robbie’s mobility around the boat as she took a tumble last year on Tangalooma during her 70th birthday and has lost a lot of confidence on her feet since and she was very impressed by Natalie’s mindfulness. Toni & Natalie both ensured all guests had the best experience possible and made every effort to assist the one poor German Lady who struggled the whole day with motion sickness. Keith made sure the Vessel as stable as possible during our lunch break to minimise upset, which was a really good effort with the swell & chop that was about. I commented to my Wife about the excellent condition & general presentation of the Vessel too, as a former boat owner, I know how very hard it is in a marine environment especially when used daily to keep things looking fresh and free from old stale boat aromas.

In short, your team are awesome and we would love to come back again and will recommend Freedom to others as we have already done on Trip Advisor.

Many thanks again for a great experience, keep up the good work.

Kind regards,
Phil & Robyn Mackenzie

By Phil and Robyn (sailed Aug 2019)

We would very much like to thank Keith, Ivan and Natalie, the crew of Freedom III‎, together with Neil who picked us up and later returned us to our overnight accomodation, for their outstanding 10 out of 10, 5 Star Whale Watch customer service and experience from start to finish on our recent trip out of Hervey Bay on the 14 August 2019.‎ ‎

The level of comfort, pre-briefing, effort and information‎ throughout our full day on board was a credit to this family run business and worthy of the highest praise. The on board food and refreshments were also of the best for being of the utmost freshness with the standard of hygiene exemplary. All this at a price hard to match for the attention to detail afforded to all onboard in today’s competitive tourist market.

Thank you one and all for an unforgettable day.

Kindest regards,
Bill Ward and Lynn‎ Douglas

By Bill and Lynn (sailed Aug 2019)

Great Value for Money!

July 13th, 2019 was the first day of the whale season, so I was not expecting to see many whales, but we did! We saw 3 different pods of whales. On the way back to the marina, two whales were spotted so the Captain made a detour so that we could watch the playful whales. It was just awesome! The whales swam to us and then under and around the boat and seem to enjoy the attention!! The crew were very informative, friendly and professional. The morning tea, lunch and afternoon tea was delicious! The trip was a great day out and value for money!

By Gary and Jackie (sailed July 2019)

Fabulous Freedom III!

Wow! Another absolutely fabulous day! Not only was I floating around on a boat, but Jeff and I were out Whale Watching on the fabulous Freedom III.  Brilliant team of people who looked after us exceptionally well, and made sure we saw lots and lots of whales!

We decided to do the whole day option and were glad we did because the whales did not really start appearing until about lunch time. I am privileged enough to have seen whales in their feeding ground in Alaska, but here they were at play and up to all sorts of antics. Jeff did the most incredible job capturing some on camera, not an easy thing because you just never knew when they would do something amazing! Too many photos to put up here, but have included a few.

The end of the cruise took us close to the shoreline of Fraser Island .. thanks to the great commentary from our Skipper Keith, we learned today three things. Firstly it was Prince Charles that had the island listed as a heritage site, and secondly that Fraser Island is no longer Fraser Island. It has now officially been renamed K’gari, pronounced “gurri” and meaning paradise, which is the original name used by the Butchulla people. Third, Fraser came from the name of an English woman who was held captor there for 5 years (quite some time ago!).

A trip to K´gari is on our bucket list. Not sure when it will happen, but I don’t suppose it will coincide with the visit of Harry and Meghan on 22nd October!!!!

Oh, and that ski slope you think you can see are actually sand dunes on K´gari … pure white silica sand!

By Ann (sailed 2018 season)

Experience of a lifetime!

On August 18, 2017 we (family of 5 from The Netherlands, Europe) had the most amazing day with captain Keith and his crew. If you want to go whale watching: go to Hervey Bay and book a trip on the Freedom for really the experience of a lifetime. We have never seen so much whales and we even stayed out at sea longer because our captain loved seeing the whales as much as we did. And we already booked this trip because this is the tour spending the most time at sea. Everything was perfect: pick up and drop off at our hotel, lots of information from the captain, great crew, delicious food (morning tea with fresh (still warm) baked scones and profiterolles, fresh buffet lunch and great afternoon tea) and more whales (jumping out of the water, mother with calve) and turtles than you can imagine. Unrestricted viewing for all on board, spacious inside and out. If we come back to Australia we will certainly make another trip with the Freedom!

By Linda (sailed 18 Aug 2017)

Freedom is the way to go!!

What an experience we had yesterday. We thought we might have seen whales in the distance but we had not one but 2 whales breach about 10 sec apart only 40 metres from the boat. They then came right up to the boat and put their heads up out of the water it felt like they were interacting with us this went on for 3/4 hr. Great day with just the right size of boat and amount of people, no one missed out on a thing. Excellent morning and afternoon teas and delightful meats and salad luncheon. Overall could not fault the day, if whale watching is your desire Freedom is the way to go.

By Colin (sailed 21 July 2016)

***** 5 Stars Plus!!

I haven’t stopped telling everyone about last Saturday, 17 October,2015. I quietly celebrated my birthday with my husband. Everything about this trip was 100%. The food was fresh and the taste even better. Morning Tea, Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Coffee, Tea, Cold Drinks, so much to eat and there was plenty of it. We were picked up from our Caravan Park and from that time on the day just was perfect. The staff were so polite, friendly and assisting in every way possible. Through persistence of the crew we saw some amazing whale and calves playing, sleeping and just being beautifully wild. The Crew went zig zagging a bit to see the pods but it was all part of the adventure which made it even more exciting. The Crew communicated with all the visitors with continued smiles and laughter. I had a smile on my face from pick up to drop off and still have writing this review. I would Highly Recommend Freedom Whale Watch & Charters to anyone and have have been just doing that as I live only an hour away. We will most definitely be doing this trip again and so look forward to seeing the Whales, Calves, The Crew, The Smiles & the Food again. It is the best Birthday I have had in a very long time. Many Thanks to All.

By Julie

A must do trip from Hervey Bay during the Whale migration season!

Everything about this trip was superb. ‘Freedom Whale Watch’ is obviously a highly professional, well organised and friendly company. From our hotel pick up to our return everything ran smoothly and to time. The boat was beautifully maintained and the numbers on board were small enough to make it a very enjoyable experience. Staff couldn’t have been more helpful. The food was plentiful, tasty, fresh and of a high quality so our compliments to the chefs. Tea and coffee was also available throughout the day.

Our trip was in mid October and nearing the end of the whale migration period, but we were very fortunate to have seen many whales with several very close to the boat. The Captain was excellent at not only spotting the whales, but ensured everyone knew exactly where to look and kept us amused and informed throughout the trip. He went out of his way to find as many pods as he could and was always quick to act on any  sightings by passengers.

All in all an exceptionally enjoyable day and therefore a must do trip from Hervey Bay during the Whale migration season.

By Dr. Anil Rastogi

Nothing was too much trouble…

Thank you so much for the brilliant day out whale watching yesterday. The whales were absolutely amazing. And while they’re definitely the stars of the show the crew aboard Freedom 111 took the trip to the next level. Helpful, friendly, knowledgeable and entertaining. Nothing was too much trouble. And the food was sooo yummy. Highly recommend Freedom Whale Watch for an experience not to be missed.

By Wendy Clancy from Maryborough, QLD

The whales were breathtaking…

Thanks Sue and Keith for a wonderful trip to see the whales. The experience was great and the staff were helpful and lovely. The food was to die for and plenty of it. The whales were breathtaking and all was done to give us a wonderful view of them.  We were recommended to do the trip with you by friends from NSW and we certainly have and will continue to pass on to all we come in contact with to go with you if they want a remarkable day. Thanks again from two grateful older people.

By Kay & Gary

LEAVE YOUR TESTIMONIAL

We would love to hear your thoughts!

Here at Freedom III we always strive to do our best to show our customers a fantastic time whether it be experiencing the awesome humpback whales or relaxing watching the sunset over the sparkling waters of the Great Sandy Strait. We would love to hear about your experience, good or bad. We are always looking to improve and welcome any constructive feedback you could provide. We can’t wait to hear from you!

Submit review